3R Research Foundation Switzerland - Front page
The foundation


 

de | fr | en   print view

Presenting the 3R Foundation

The Aim of the Foundation

The aim of the 3R Foundation is to promote alternative research methods to animal experimentation through grants for research projects as well as to implement and promote the 3R principles. The organisation supports first and foremost projects aimed at developing new methods or refining accepted methods (validation) which offer improvements vis-à-vis standard animal experimentation in line with the 3R motto Reduce, Refine, Replace. Research projects are selected for support according to periodically defined principal areas for financial support.

How the Foundation is Funded

The 3R Foundation is a cooperative institution set up in 1987 by the Parliamentary Group for Animal Experimentation Questions (public organ), Interpharma (Actelion Ltd, Merck Serono Ltd, Novartis Pharma Ltd, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd, and the associated members Bayer (Switzerland) Ltd, Cilag Ltd and Vifor Ltd) and the Foundation for Animalfree Research (animal protection). The organisation is supervised by the Federal Department of Home Affairs.

The Administrative Board of the Foundation is made up of nine members, two representing the Swiss parliament (1 seat vacant), two representing animal protection, two from Interpharma and two from the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office, as well as a representative of other interested circles.

The Board has appointed an Evaluation Committee to revue proposed research projects and applications for grants. This Committee at present comprises 11 scientists from the academic and industrial sectors.

The Foundation's Achievements To Date

Research into experimental methods which do not involve live animals has played an important role in replacing animal experimentation by alternative methods. The Foundation also aims, however, at improving animal experimentation methods in line with increased animal protection. The research activities which have benefited from 3R's support have made a major contribution towards reducing the number of experiments involving live animals in Switzerland, as well as developing better or new methods.

Since it was founded, 3R has received around 450 applications for research grants and 130 of these projects have received some financial aid.

The funds used to support approved projects are provided in equal parts by the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office and Interpharma. An annual amount of approximately CHF 500,000 is available for grants.

Total funding for approved projectsCHF 17 763 938.81
Grants paid out so farCHF 16 790 879.81
Contributions from the ConfederationCHF 9 703 000.00
Contributions from InterpharmaCHF 10 243 000.00



TOP

Stiftung Forschung 3R - Startseite
Die Stiftung


 

de | fr | en   Druckansicht

Die Stiftung stellt sich vor

Zweck der Stiftung

Die Stiftung Forschung 3R bezweckt, die Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Alternativmethoden zu Tierversuchen durch Finanzierung von Forschungsprojekten zu fördern, und setzt sich für die Umsetzung und Verbreitung der 3R-Grundsätze ein. Sie unterstützt vordringlich Projekte zur Erforschung neuer Methoden oder zur Weiterentwicklung bekannter Methoden (Validierung von Methoden), welche im Sinne der 3 R (Reduce, Refine, Replace / Vermindern, Verbessern, Vermeiden) gegenüber der heutigen Tierversuchspraxis Verbesserungen versprechen. Die Forschungsprojekte werden nach periodisch festgesetzten Schwerpunkten für die Unterstützung ausgewählt.

Träger der Stiftung

Die Stiftung ist ein Gemeinschaftswerk der parlamentarischen Gruppe für Tierversuchsfragen (Öffentlichkeit), der Interpharma (Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz mit den heutigen Mitgliedern Actelion Ltd., Merck Serono International SA, Novartis Pharma AG, F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG und den assoziierten Mitgliedern Bayer Schweiz AG, Cilag AG und Vifor AG) und des Fonds für versuchstierfreie Forschung – heute Stiftung Animalfree Research (Tierschutz). Sie besteht seit 1987 und steht unter der Aufsicht des Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern.

Der Stiftungsrat setzt sich aus neun Mitgliedern zusammen, nämlich je zwei Vertreterinnen des Parlaments (1 Sitz vakant), des Tierschutzes, der Interpharma und des Bundesamtes für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen sowie einer Vertreterin weiterer interessierter Kreise.

Für die Evaluation der vorgeschlagenen Forschungsprojekte und Beitragsgesuche hat der Stiftungsrat einen Expertenausschuss eingesetzt. Diesem gehören zur Zeit 11 Wissenschafter und Wissenschafterinnen von Hochschulen und aus der Industrie an.

Leistungen der Stiftung

Forschung im Bereich Alternativen zum Tierversuch leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag, um Tierversuche durch andere Methoden zu ersetzen. Es geht aber auch darum, Tierversuche im Sinne des Tierschutzes zu verbessern. Die von der Stiftung Forschung 3R unterstützten Forschungsaktivitäten haben mitgeholfen, die Zahl der Tierversuche in der Schweiz wesentlich zu senken, aber auch bessere oder neue Methoden zu entwickeln.

Seit ihrem Bestehen hat die Stiftung von rund 450 eingegangenen Gesuchen um Forschungsbeiträge 130 Projekte unterstützt.

Die Mittel für die Unterstützung der Forschung stammen paritätisch vom Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen und von der Interpharma. Jährlich stehen rund Fr. 500'000.- zur Verfügung.

Genehmigte Gesamtsumme aller ProjekteFr. 17 763 938.81
bisher ausgerichtete BeiträgeFr. 16 790 879.81
Beiträge BundFr. 9 703 000.00
Beiträge InterpharmaFr. 10 243 000.00



TOP